Daily Archives: February 14, 2008

Pull

Love is in the air, like so many clay pigeons that want shooting down. It’s spring. (Well, in right-thinking parts of the world it is.) And it couldn’t have come at a better time. I’ve a new pair of jeans that want showing off.

In recognition of Saint Valentine’s (“the sex holiday,” Isaac Mizrahi called it recently, “well, it’s the love holiday and the sex holiday”) I’m posting a list of things that I love (in no particular order and off the top of my pointed head).

I’ll start with Isaac himself. And his new website. He’s full of optimism and wonderment. Really, he’s like a chic little child and I nominate him as my dream Valentine’s date this year.

Sei Shonagon and her Pillow Book.
She inspires my list, although her lists were simple elegant poetry and mine are idle social vomit that could barely take the time to make it to the top of my throat. Think of this blog as the waste paper basket I clutch to my chest as I gag on the way to the toilet. Who will hold my hair back?

Cocoa Nymph.
Where it’s Saint Valentine’s every day.

Crampton Hodnet.
Currently on my bedside table.

The season’s first snowdrops.


Dorothy Parker (who needs no link). She summed it all up:

Oh, life is a glorious cycle of song,
A medley of extemporanea.
And love is a thing that can never go wrong,
And I am Marie of Romania.

Not So Deep as a Well (1937), “Comment”